[Movie] Anatomy of an illusion – Pledge, Turn & Prestige


I watch many movies, no matter they are famous or so so, but some movies are worth watching. I usually get excited in all movies, but some leave a great impact on me and I recommend those to others. One of the latest movie I watched is The Prestige. It released last year. It is an adaption from Christopher Priest‘s award-winning 1995 novel “The Prestige”.

The main plot of the movie revolves around 2 stage magicians (hmmm should I say illusionists), Robert Angier and Alfred Borden, somewhere in 20th century. Angier and Borden used to be partners in helping senior stage magicians to perform the illusions. Angier blames Borden for an accident in which Angier’s wife dies and then they are separated but keeping a same final aim. Both obsessed with creating the best stage illusion, stop at nothing to uncover the secrets of each other’s acts, with tragic results.

The film is split into three storylines, each resembling one of the three stages of magic. First, there is the setup, or the “pledge,” where the magician shows the audience something that appears ordinary but is probably not, making use of misdirection. Then there is the performance, or the “turn,” where the magician makes the ordinary act extraordinary. Lastly, there is the “prestige,” where the effect of the illusion is produced.
The end of the movie, I don’t think I should disclose it here 😀

http://video.movies.go.com/theprestige/

